The Value of Time Off

I recently spent a week whitewater rafting down the middle fork of the Salmon River in Idaho. As obsessed as I am about writing, I realize the value of taking a break. Getting completely away from everything electronic is a great way to do it. The break revitalized my spirit and energized my writing.

It worked wonders! The night we got off the river, I completely rewrote a chapter for my second book, Prison Earth – A Loss of Face, that had been plaguing me for months.

Once we were home, I started preparing my current book, Prison Earth – Not Guilty as Charged for ebook release on Smashwords.com. You can find it at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/20138. (The Kindle version is available on Amazon.com, but all other versions can be found using the above link.)

Prison Earth - Not Guilty as Charged

Prison Earth - Not Guilty as Charged

Very few writers are lucky enough to spend 100% of their time writing and promoting their books. We have day jobs that pay the bills, and consume a huge chunk of our day. Once you are published, however, the book, and the task of promoting it, takes more and more of your free time. It is important to carve out a bit of our year to get away from the stress and recharge ourselves.

But now that I’m back, its time to get that query letter ready for the second book…and finish the final edits…and prepare my YouTube video…and…

Sigh…

Clifford M. Scovell
Prison Earth – the series
www.prison-earth.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

