Nothing Like the First Time

Though the book release party for my new book might be considered my first public event, my reading at the Community Library in Ketchum, Idaho was the first time I hadn’t packed the house with my own friends and family. I was naturally nervous, reading in front of a room full of strangers, but they quickly became friends.

The audience was attentive and even applauded when I finished. Everyone stayed through the questions and answers period, and then roughly a quarter of the forty people there lined up for books offered by The Chapter One Bookstore.

I’ll probably never get rich doing book signings, but getting out there to meet people who become excited about reading my book makes it all worthwhile.

I’m looking forward to the next one.

Clifford M. Scovell
Prison Earth – Not Guilty as Charged
http://www.prison-earth.com

Ketchum book signing with my sister Susan

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Nothing Like the First Time”

  1. Sierra Michaels Says:

    Congrats Clifford!!!! I just had my book release party and I had a lot of fun. All friends but that’s what I wanted for my fist signing. I look forward to many more.

    Sierra Michaels
    http://www.sierramichaels.com

    • prisonearth Says:

      Sierra,

      Glad to hear it went well. My next reading drew forty people, and because I had the chance to work out my nerves at the book release party, it went very well. Of course, I put a lot of the credit to my beloved Leith, for all the coaching she did. I’m not a public person by nature, and it took a lot of practice to slow down my reading, and speak up.

      I hear Black Rose is planning an author’s fair in Texas some time this summer. I’m keeping my summer schedule open, but hope he’ll set a date soon. It takes a while to generate interest in a new book, and this summer is starting to fill up with other events. Hope you can make it down so we can give each other a big high-five!

      Cliff

  2. Sierra Michaels Says:

    Cliff,
    I would love to attend the fair in Texas, if you hear anything more let me know. I’m sure Reagan will announce to everyone. I did a reading at my release party and my husband had the same comments….slow down next time and a bit louder. My party was mostly friends and in a very relaxed environment. I am planning my signing schedule after easter. I’ve been very busy with online promotion.
    Have a good holiday and I hope to meet you this summer.
    Sierra

Leave a Reply

