Valentine’s Day

I’ve seen a lot of advertisements promoting this day, and people deriding it as a cultural insult. I say, why knock something that promotes love? Yes, I agree. Love should be expressed every day of the year, but sometimes, in our frantic need to meet our many everyday demands, we forget to tell those we love how much they mean to us. If that is so, having a day set aside to remind us is a good thing. Right?

I believe love is infinite, and no amount of division will make it less valuable, or special to those you share it with. Please keep in mind, I’m not talking about lust, which leads to more intimate contact between two people. Love is an entirely separate thing. One does not require the other, but of the two, love is the more permanent, and magical.

In some cases, as with family members and childhood friends, the people I love have been with me so long I don’t know when I started loving them. With more recent relationships, however, I felt the magic the moment we met. It’s like I knew them in some past life, and in that astounding moment we found each other again.

Unlike lust, love cannot be bought, faked, or forced. It happens or it doesn’t. And in the end, that is what makes it so special…and miraculous.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

