The Resolution

2010 is here and I’m totally overwhelmed with the possibilities. I’ve a new book coming out on January 21st, and much to do to get ready for it. (Check it out at http://www.prison-earth.com) Writing in this blog is one task on my A list. There are many more, some not even related to my newest enterprise.
Of course, there’s always the New Year Resolutions. I’m going to lose twenty pounds. (OK, it’s the same twenty pounds I was going to lose last year, but this time will be different!) I’m going to make more money: a very American dream. I’m resolved to have better communications with my family and friends.
Ho Hum. This is sounding a lot like last year’s unresolved resolution list. It’s hard, because there’s always a good excuse for putting things off.

So maybe I should just say, “No to excuses. I’m going to do this, no matter what.”

“I’m going to finish the next book in my Sci-Fi trilogy.”

Nope! That won’t do it. I know I’ll dig up this resolution time and time again, but it’s an open-ended promise.
“I’m going to finish the next book in my Sci-Fi trilogy by January 31st.”
Put a year on it.
“January 31st, 2010.”
Better, but what’s the down side of not doing it?
“I’m going to finish the next book in my Sci-Fi trilogy by January 31st, 2010, or I’ll take a bath in ice water.”
Hmmm…that’s got promise.
My next commitment is to finish this blog today. In fact, I’m going to do it right now!

“Honey? Will you empty the garbage?”
“Yes, Dear. Right after I finish here.”
“You used that excuse yesterday and it’s really starting to stink in here.”
“Just five minutes.”
“Ditto on that one.”

Sigh!

Clifford M. Scovell
Prison Earth – Not Guilty as Charged
http://www.prison-earth.com

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

